Consumer Advice – Confusing Advice?

Confused-Cat-Meme-2

Paper pattern puzzlement

I received a reply on Tuesday from Consumer Advice to a further question about my legal rights when I buy a paper sewing pattern. Sadly, not from the helpful Daniel, who seemed to understand what I was asking about, and translated nigh-incomprehensible legalese into an easily-understandable answer to my question. Instead, it came from someone who was, I am sure, trying to be helpful, but who seems to have just quoted what I can only assume are the relevant paragraphs of the applicable law. I am not unintelligent, but I simply do not understand what it means.

I have tried for four full days to untangle the answer to my question from within the email response I received, but I simply cannot. So, I am going to have to ask again, and rephrase my question. And hope that the helpful and understandable Daniel gets to answer me!

In the meantime, then, to more interesting things …

Fabric delights.

I was feeling annoyed at someone today, so took myself off to buy fabric in the nearby city; my favourite stall on the open market – a fabric stall, of course – is always manna to the soul, and never more so than today.

‘I know what you’ll like’ said the proprietor, ushering me round to one side. ‘Look, I’ve got three bolts of this. I’m sure it was a mistake, it shouldn’t have been in the junk bin at the wholesalers! But it was. So …’

It is the loveliest, silky-soft, highest quality, light dress weight/medium shirting weight, 100% cotton, high thread count chambray in a perfectly-traditional mid denim blue.

I bought some – actually, I bought quite a lot. I have a couple of summer dress patterns I’ve toiled already, but it’d make wonderfully-soft summer pj tops, a perfect shirt, or a cool, drapey, gored or panelled skirt. It’d also make simply glorious, luxurious bedlinen.

I also picked up a couple or three metres of a high-cotton-content polycotton in a turquoise polkadot, at just £1.50/m, and was given a small piece – just under a metre – in a powder-blue polkadot by the stall-holder.  Then I walked down to another shop, and brought back several pieces of colourful, unususl cotton prints.  These – and probably some of the chambray, too, are all for a charity project in which I hope shortly to become involved. All the fabrics – bar the chambray – are currently drying on the rack outside, having gone through a good hot wash.

I am so lucky where I live – fabrics galore within easy reach!

4 thoughts on “Consumer Advice – Confusing Advice?

    1. Thanks Joanne – if I don’t get an easily-understood response I might just do that. The problem, though, is not just the translation of the legalese, it’s the application of that section of that part of the law in specific circumstances here in England.

      Like

      1. England and Canada aren’t that different and the law is the law. If it interacts with local law, it’s going to say so. That said, I do hope you get a clearer answer, it would be so much more satisfying for you!

        Like

      2. The other – main! – reason for my wanting a reply in plain English from CA is so that I can refer a retailer to CA’s interpretation and hence advice to the consumer, which although not ‘the law’ itself, is … influential, shall we say.

        Like

I love to read what you think about this.

