CHILD LABOUR

Made in Turkey

We’ve all read the news reports and seen the Panorama  and other TV investigations and exposees showing the horrendous conditions in garment factories in the Indian subcontinent. We probably then looked at the labels in our clothes and were happy when we saw ‘Made in Turkey’ thinking something on the lines of ‘Well, at least it’s better than Bangladesh, Turkey even wants to join the EU – they can’t be that bad …’

Now it comes closer – much closer – to home.

The kids who have to sew to survive

6 thoughts on “CHILD LABOUR

  1. This is very sad. I think a lot of people will continue to buy their togs from Pr*******rk or wherever if it is cheap, though. I was talking to one lady who has 4 kids and works and she says she doesn’t have time to sew and that in any case patterns are expensive (that’s true unless you jump in when there’s a sale) so she buys stuff from wherever she can afford both for herself and the husband and kids. Mind you, I don’t think it’s necessarily just the “cheap as chips” * places that sell stuff made by child labour either. I wonder where this will all end up now…in the UK despite all the problems we go through we are still RELATIVELY well off (we can afford to run a welfare system of sorts) but if ALL the jobs move overseas and we end up with large-scale unemployment will anybody be able to afford the imported clothing – though that won’t happen straightaway.

    Tangentially, I think you mentioned GOMI on one of your threads. It keeps booting me out (I get ‘error’) even though I was using Firefox as my browser (where I haven’t loaded Adblock or Ghostery so haven’t banned the adverts). I don’t even get redirected I get ‘error’ and as I can’t enter the site I can’t send a message saying there is a technical glitch. Still, on a worldwide scale my being able to get into GOMI or not isn’t the be all and end all of life though I did enjoy the occasional chuckle I had over there. But compared with children overseas being exploited not being able to enter a website is not the most important thing.

    * Chips (of the fish and variety) aren’t particularly cheap though now, are they? I had a work colleague who told me her husband was a “chippie” and it took a while for the penny to drop that he was a carpenter rather than someone working in a fishn’chip shop. Mind you he was doing a job for an aquarium – I thought perhaps he had a mobile fish and chips van (though I don’t know if such things exist).

    Like

  2. It’s getting closer to home by the second. I wonder how shocked we would be if this was found to be happening on our own doorstep? It makes me ashamed to think that garments I’ve worn have been made by a child…

    Like

    1. I had hoped not but, honestly, who can say? The only hope – YET AGAIN – is that the High Street brands which sell this stuff will clean up their act, and effectively at last. But I strongly doubt that hope is in any way realistic.

      Like

      1. This programme upset me as I thought the problem had been addressed by the big high street brands. Obviously not. I feel ashamed that it is possible that I am wearing clothes made by a child, when I have enough resources and good enough health to make my own. The problem is also creeping nearer to home, and I think the nation would be out on the streets if one of these sweatshops was found to be operating in this country. Or maybe it is…..:(

        Like

I love to read what you think about this.

